Like dominoes, another state has legalized permitless concealed carry.
Beginning in August, North Dakota residents will be allowed to carry a concealed handgun without a government-issued permit.
The bill was signed by Gov. Doug Burgum Thursday that permits people to carry a concealed weapon as long as they have had a valid North Dakota Driver License or identification for one year, KTVQ is reporting.
The new law only – commonly called “constitutional carry” applies within the state; it does not permit state resident to concealed carry outside state lines. Schools and other public places will still require a permit or concealed carry as well.
There was no opposition to House Bill 1169 – no law enforcement agencies testified against its passage. Rather, a spokesman from the North Dakota Peace Officers Association testified that the bill is more enforceable because it only applies to state residents and requires someone carrying a concealed weapon to notify a law enforcement officer immediately upon contact.
Upon signing the bill – which takes effect August 1, Gov. Burgum said: “I ask legislators and law enforcement officials to closely monitor this new law with a continual focus on public safety.”
Carrying a hidden firearm without a permit is currently a misdemeanor, punishable by up to 30 days in jail and a fine of up to $1,500.
In the last few years, the number of concealed carry permits in North Dakota has doubled to almost 50,000
With the addition of North Dakota, that brings the total number of states that do not require a permit to carry a loaded concealed firearm to 13. Those other states are: Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Kansas, Maine, Mississippi, Missouri, New Hampshire, Vermont, West Virginia and Wyoming.
Montana, New Mexico and Oklahoma have limited forms of constitutional carry, restricted by whether the firearm is loaded or not, their location or the specific person.